IMG_3500While the majority of early morning traffic into downtown Vancouver Saturday, August 15th was headed to SeaWheeze Half Marathon, I was headed to WordCamp Vancouver #wcyvr located at BCIT. A full day conference that focused on everything WordPress.

I learned about WordCamp after reading a tweet from local educator, Victoria Woelders. I attended an EdCamp session a while back where Victoria lead a breakout session on apps in the classroom where her passion for, and understanding of, technology was amazing. Since then I’ve enjoyed following her on Twitter and reading her blog.

The WordCamp attendees ranged from casual users to core developers, with WordPress being the connection. There was something for everyone offered at WordCamp. I attended WordCamp because my blog is through WordPress and the WordPress topic in general interests me. My goal walking in was to leave at the end of the day having learned about topics I knew would interest me, but I knew little about. I’m happy to report I accomplished my goal. To follow were the different WordCamp sessions.

Training Track was offered for the beginner user.

Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 8.23.21 PMThe conference room focused on general talks where all level of WordPress users enjoyed. The atrium talks focused on WordPress developer topics.

Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 8.27.29 PM

I was interested to learn WordPress powers 24% of the web. The following quote was taken from www.wordpress.org. – “WordPress powers more than 24% of the web — a figure that rises every day. Everything from simple websites, to blogs, to complex portals and enterprise websites, and even applications, are built with WordPress.

I will leave you with a slide shown during the “Why Security Matters” talk. I found the speaker Ben Martin to be extremely informative regarding data security. I wasn’t going to stay and listen to the talk as my own site is such a small fish in a big pond, but I decided to stay at the last minute and I’m so glad I did. Data security isn’t a glamorous topic, but an important one and necessary to know the basics nonetheless. As the slide header regarding data security below states “Be Proactive Not Reactive”.

Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 9.12.01 PM

See you next year WordCamp Vancouver!

