The ‘e-books vs. paper books’ debate is one hot topic I tell ya. When the topic is discussed among avid readers, usually its a very colourful conversation. I’m a fan of e-books because I do most of my reading at night where my only light source is the lit words I’m reading. I adjust my iBook setting to night theme where it converts my e-book page background to black and the words white. Much gentler on the eyes. I tend to default to iBook as my main e-reader app, I also have the Kindle for iOS app loaded onto my iPad just in case Kindle is selling an e-book at a cheaper price than iBook. Also, sometimes Kindle has e-books for sale that aren’t for sale in iBook.

Very important to me is the brightness of my iPad screen when reading at night. Within my Kindle app I’m able to manually dim my screen to a much lower brightness than what the iBook app can offer.

*Note the brightness setting I’m referring to in this blog post is separate to the brightness control located within your iOS control centre. Swiping up from the bottom edge of your iOS device is where your control centre is.*

Perhaps a future Apple iOS update will include a greater brightness control range within the iBook app, but until then here is a little hack I use when I’m reading at night to force my iBook screen to dim further than the settings offered within iBook.

  1. Select > Settings
  2. Select > General
  3. Select > Accessibly
  4. Select > Zoom
  5. Triple-tap screen using three fingers
  6. Select > Choose Filter
  7. Select > Low Light

How to remove low light filter.*Note steps 1-4 above is a one time setup in order to activate feature.

  1. Triple-tap screen using three fingers
  2. Select > Choose Filter
  3. Select > None

Interesting to note this hack doesn’t save battery life on your iOS device. It’s actually just a filter, not a physical dimming of your iOS device’s screen. Until a future iOS update includes a greater brightness control range, I’ll just continue with my three finger triple-tap trick.

